Doctoral Dissertation Award

Doctoral Dissertation Award

The German Association for the Study of English awards a prize for outstanding PhD theses in the field of English Studies.

The next Doctoral Dissertation Award will be bestowed in 2021.



Award winners

Year Award winners
2018 Heidi Liedke: There is no joy but calm: Idleness, Traveling, and Idle Travellers in the Victorian Age
Michael Westphal: Linguistic Variation in Jamaican Radio
2015 Mareile Schramm,
Jan Wilm

Joanna Rostek


Stella Butter

2005 Sebastian Hoffmann,
Kai Merten
2002 Stephanie Hackert
1999 Magnus Huber,
Christoph Reinfandt
1996 Marianne Hundt
1993 Christoph Irmscher,
Andreas Mahler
1990 Wolfgang Herrlinger


  • Print
  • Top